2019 to 2020: An Ode to Victory

jesus-saves

It’s not the first time I’ve used this photo for a write up. But this beautiful illustration seems like the right picture for this poem serving as my comeback post after a long time! SOURCE: https://www.godisreal.today/pictures-of-jesus/ Photo by Lars Justinen

 

 

Through the years, as time flew by

Looking back, I cannot help but sigh

I painfully recall how two thousand and nineteen

Became less the picture of what it should have been.

 

I would lose count on how many times I failed

I drowned so quickly as the waves of burden assailed

The Hand of Mercy lifted me up to safety again

I was back at the shore but only until my next amen.

 

I ventured into new heights I have never gone before

I stumbled to great depths as I believed more and more

Those fatal counterfeits and destructive lies

Why o why did I ever compromise?

 

Well, what can you expect from an ever-wretched soul?

Like a dying meteor spiraling out of control

I lost my light, waxed cold and fell so deep from heaven

O how could you save one who has died so often?

 

But alas! Grace found me in my darkest wilderness

Divine Love reached out to me, fresh from the ashes

Weary but wide awake, I could only open my heart’s door

To receive such undeserved blessings and surely, many in store.

 

Many prayers have been said; lessons for life learned,

Many songs have been sung, precious insights earned,

Daily battles have been lost yet there are still more to be won

Less I forget what it cost, less I lose sight of  the Son.

 

Through the next years or so, right before my eyes

Looking forward ahead and once again arise

I heartily believe and hopefully claim that two thousand and twenty

Become the new chapter of a victor’s story, even unto eternity!

 

P.S. To supplement this poem, I’ll be sharing this musical treat in line with the essence of what I have written and just happens to be one of my favorite songs!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment