A Baggage-less 2017

15871023_10206039914755840_2040030560_n

While I was cleaning my room last Friday (this was my much needed general cleaning), I found this piece of an old calendar. It might be a coincidence that through the mess, this was the only exact paper that was detached from the rest. But with the quote written on it, I can’t help but think that this was divine intervention in ways I may never know or explain.

But nevertheless, what really matters is the timely message I received as I was on the crossroads of a new year- which meant a page of a new 365  page book and writing a good one as Brad Paisley puts it. (Sighs). Yes, I feel determined in achieving that end by God’s grace but sometimes, in the long run, I may get too exhausted or wearied down. (You may have read my entry, the one prior to this which was my last for 2016; it somehow reflects how I failed to apply the quote in the photo above) That’s why it is so important for me to fully let go of all the negatives I have carried in 2016 in order to really start another year the right way!

So looking back to yesterday, the first day of 2017, I am peacefully contented and blissfully grateful that I started the process of living life minus the unnecessary baggage. Having surrendered my burdens and committed my will to God, I was able to bring joy (I cleaned my mother’s garden and it brought a smile to her face), perseverance (I got to play my violin again with high hopes that my skills would improve ), faith (I learned to shake off the doubts and just trust the Lord; I’m still learning) and love (This was manifested by all of the following because I wouldn’t want to live right this 2017 if it were not for it. Thank You Jesus for the love!)

(Breathes deeply)

I don’t know how this year would turn out or if all these efforts would end up in vain. Certainly, life is full of uncertainties. But one thing remains certain to me: I’m learning to live life to the fullest now, certain kilos lesser!

15877948_10206040149801716_269344739_o

Nanay was not the only one happy on January 1. Look at the plants! How huge their smiles!

Leave a Reply

