Unleashing the Kangaroo in Me

kangaroo-hopping.jpg.adapt.945.1

SOURCE: http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/content/dam/kids/photos/animals/Mammals/H-P/kangaroo-hopping

Fresh from a precious nap, you might expect me to be energized to write out this entry. Or it might be the new month feels. (Wah, it’s already June 1?) Although they might be influential, there is certainly something deeper and more relevant that prompted me to hit the ‘Create a New Post’ button. Before sleeping earlier, I was not feeling well but I managed to have my daily, alone time with God. The message from Our Daily Bread was so timely and so inspiring that it got me thinking and self-evaluating. God’s providence even in the message you receive for the day never fails to amaze me. It was the same way too yesterday. So I guess now, you know why I really want to share this and hopefully, you can get something from this brief post.

From ODB, I learned that kangaroos seldom move backward and so do emus. Well, their anatomies are responsible for that. In analogy, the writer pointed out the importance of moving forward instead of being stuck in the past. I like what he said in the last paragraph: “While it is wise to learn from the past, we shouldn’t live in the past. We cannot redo or undo the past, but by God’s grace we can press forward and serve God faithfully today and in the future. The life of faith is a journey forward as we become like Christ.” These words hit me hard and led me to a self-examination because recently, things have been difficult for me. I was convicted of letting the past haunt me or rule my life even though there was already a time  I had to let go.

As I look back, I can’t help but feel regret for some things that I did. The feeling is mutual when I remember how I lost my IPhone 5 (it got wet during our trip to Palawan). Don’t get me wrong; I am not materialistic. But it kills me to know that I could never retrieve all the photos and videos taken from that device. Well, I just comfort myself though with the thought that at least, I didn’t lose something far valuable. I truly believe you know, dear reader, what I’m referring to. These are not actually things but people, values, etc. And before I forget, God taught me a lesson that day, learned the hard way but never forgotten. However, I’ll keep that to myself.

It wasn’t only in May that I was still bothered by the past. Just this morning, while doing the laundry with my sister, our conversation led to a ‘sensitive’ topic- the board exam. If you read my post on my board exam experience, then you’d understand where I’m coming from and why I mentioned it here. The unwanted reactions surely prove that I still didn’t move on completely and after reading the passage from ODB, God was clearly reminding me that I had to do so.

How about you, my friend? Are you still buried in the past that you can’t come out victorious even if you wanted to? Are you still harboring all those regrets and what-ifs in your mind? Now is the time to release them to the Lord. Now is the time to let go and completely entrust Him your life in faith. Now is the time to find your inner kangaroo and set it free.

P.S. Here’s something from the Bible to inspire you to move forward like a kangaroo (I hope the song would do likewise): “Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus” (3:13-14).

Leave a Reply

