Boxing Off the Post Pacquaio Blues

CAzA2lnWwAAwCHp.0.0

A week and two days after The Fight of the Century, here I am with the urge to share my thoughts on this talked about event. Well, besides the fact that the game’s tickets sold out and social media was abuzz last May 10, what really marks it was the stupefying victory of Mayweather over Pacquaio. Or was it obvious enough that this was a conspiracy all along? It somehow seemed like Mayweather orchestrated everything to his advantage because he never wanted to lose in the first place. The way I see it, from the judges to the referee (surprisingly, I did not expect him to favor Mayweather but I think the color of the skin says it all), it was a well laid-out plan which turned out to become a huge success.

But the success, in the world’s eyes, did not equate to it at all. Most of the people thought Manny was going to win because his opponent was not aggressive. With all that running and hugging, I am not impressed at all with Mayweather’s performance. And this is not biased because many fans from different countries would agree with me. It just so shocking that someone with that kind of performance could win. To add more to the negative atmosphere, it is so disappointing to see how distorted boxing is.

Anyway, despite the gloomy (coupled by the rainy weather that day) and frustrating loss of the People’s Champ, I was able to see the light. I feel like it was a big sign from God telling Pacquaio to quit boxing and focus more on what He wanted him to do. It is quite challenging for Manny to leave the ring without victory but what is it compared to the joy he has with his family and in serving God? Besides my perception, it is comforting to see how many people around the globe expressed their respect and praises for Manny in social media especially in Twitter. He truly gained something better than his opponent did and no boxing medal can match that.

But just when we thought everything was okay, lo and behold, the startling news of Manny’s shoulder injury surfaced and a frenzy of problems began. Sad to say Pacquaio made some pretty bad choices regarding the game and how I wish he told the truth. His health should be more important to him than pleasing the fans. I guess he had to learn from his mistakes the hard way. I just hope and pray that the cases against him will drop and if he ever gets suspended, that the span of time would coincide with the healing process post surgery. And since he is a good and God fearing man, I know he will abide with the law and justice will be served.

From all these events that recently occurred in Manny’s life, there are lots of insights or lessons which we can grasp before we learn them the other way around. Plus, we can really see that in the world, there are pride chickens and humble bees. It is such a wretched reality that one of the former considers himself greater than Mike Tyson or Sugar Ray. And all this because he is undefeated. *Sighs* I prefer someone who may have lost but has gained the reputation of being more than a boxer. And I believe that I’m not the only one. On this note, here’s me saying goodbye to these post Pacquaio blues!

MANNY PACQUAIO: Always will be the "People's Champ" and the humble bee I knew... SOURCE:http://fightnights.com/boxer-10

MANNY PACQUAIO: Always will be the “People’s Champ” and the humble bee I knew…
SOURCE:http://fightnights.com/boxer-10

Leave a Reply

