2014: A Year of Blessings

20141231-0002

This is me with a grateful smile for all God’s bountiful blessings this 2014… πŸ™‚

Whew… Alas, I have arrived at the last day of 2014 and were it not for God’s grace, I would not be here. As I look back to the previous year, I can’t help but thank God for all the blessings He has given me and my family. May it be through trials or gifts, closed doors or opportunities. This year has been a blast and I consider it one of the best years for me since it is packed with highlights, which I will share with you, dear reader. Each, I consider a blessing.

I was still an intern when the year started and it found me saying goodbye to Riverside Medical Center after 2 months of duty there. I enjoyed my stay at the laboratory full of friendly staff and awesome machines. One defining moment during my time there was our Christmas party where my fellow UNO-R interns and I won 4th place for our group performance which was a spoof of Showtime’s SIne Mo ‘To. I got to perform Wrecking Ball with Zidluck and it was both embarrassing and fun at the same time I continued my duties at Adventist Medical Center- Bacolod where my internship experience was more fun and memorable. The atmosphere in the lab was so light; it was like you belonged to a family. From overcoming my ‘shaking’ problem during venipuncture to meeting the ‘girl’ of my dreams there, the internship was one of the most challenging and memorable experiences in my life. I was glad that I was able to touch lives and be a witness for Jesus.

The second blessing was my graduation which took place on March 22, 2014. After 4 years in a Catholic university which was tough, I finally left UNO-R and unexpectedly, with flying colors. I thought I would never be an honor graduate due to my cross-enrollment for a subject which fell on a Sabbath. But God rewarded my faithfulness and so I graduated cum laude. Oh, I remember that moment of joyful surprise when I learned of this news! It was such a special blessing and I will always be grateful to God for it.

Third, the opportunity to serve God as a literature evangelist during summer was a worthwhile effort and I learned a lot from the ministry. The spiritual benefits outweigh the monetary ones.

Fourth, unemployment is an unusual blessing. After my in-house review, my life kinda took a sudden turn when I had to be the “atsoy” of the house. I was left at home most of the time, doing the chores and reviewing for the baord exams and NMAT. I really wanted to help my parents financially and so I applied at a hospital for the position of phlebotomist. But it was clear that God’s will for me was not to work yet. It was hard at first to accept this harsh truth but good enough, I was able to move on. In God’s time, I shall be employed and work for His glory.

Fifth, my dream of Β having a piano concert was fulfilled on the eve of my 21st birthday, October 24. It was a truly meaningful event because it was my ‘debut’ and it was a concert for a cause (all the proceeds went to the Jail Ministry of our church). Entitled “Through Life’s Ebony and Ivory”, I played pieces arranged by Greg Howlett which were songs that impacted my life. Giving back my talent to God was wonderful. I will always cherish this moment in my heart.

Sixth, my NMAT experience last Novem Despite my lack of sleep the night before, God sustained me and so I survived the whole test. And just 2 weeks before, I got my results and all praises to the One who provided me with strength and wisdom on that fateful day!

Last but not the least, the blessings of family and friends have made all the ones mentioned above more special and beautiful. Without these peeps supporting me and comforting me, what would I be? I remember our foodtrips and ‘lagaw’ at SM. Our time bonding with each other, may it be at church or simply at home. And of course, the recent Christmas fellowship that we had was superb! Indeed, time with family is something to look forward to.

So these are all my blessings this 2014! They all come in different forms, some expected, few otherwise but one thing remains true: God is the Source of all them. And in heartfelt gratitude, all I can say is To God be the glory!! πŸ™‚

FotorCreated

P.S. Happy New Year guys! Have a blissful 2o15!

Leave a Reply

