Forever Changed: A Post Communion Service Renewal

 

 

Image

 

 

This Sabbath, I have to say that I really felt so blessed and empowered with all the things I’ve been through. Yes! It was a very special day because we had our Communion Service. As for those who have no idea what this is, this is a sacred ordinance held at the start of every quarter. It is a holy ceremony where we commemorate the great sacrifice Jesus did on the cross to save humanity from eternal damnation. It is where we partake of the symbols of His broken body, the bread and His precious blood, the wine. It is highly an important spiritual experience for me. because of the following reasons.which I more than love to share with you:

First and foremost, it is a time to ask God for forgiveness, grace and love to be once again part of your existence. Living in mortal bodies we are very much prone to sin any time. We have such a sinful nature as human beings that sin may sometimes feel coomon like breathing. We can’t deny it, we all are sinners and no matter how we try to not sin anymore, we end up making the same mistakes we did before or new ones which would later become our weaknesses. Either way, one thing is sure: we can always ask for God’s pardon and mercies to be granted on our wicked hearts and sinful souls. And with such a great opportunity in this service held this morning, I confessed everything to the One who is ever loving, kind and gracious even to the worst of sinners. I opened both my heart and mind to Him so that He can cleanse me from all unrighteousness and filthiness. I had such sweet succor after doing all these and what felt great was that you’re in a congregation of people who are also doing the same.Yet rest assured the Lord hears our cries for cleansing and pleas for restoration.

Secondly, it serves as a way for you to reconcile with your family members/loved ones whom you have hurt or have hurt you. It paves the ground for asking forgiveness to them and accepting your faults especially during the foot washing. Oh, how I love this part! Before Communion starts, you pair up with someone [husbands go with their wives, your friend can pair up with you as long as you belong to the same gender] and wash his/her feet with water just as Jesus did thousands of years ago to his disciples. I like the essence of this action: humility and servant-hood. You humble yourself before that person and take the form of a servant, willing to wash his feet in a way that our Savior did. It exemplifies the true character of Christ when it comes to others.

Last but not the least, this event allows me to give a thorough evaluation of myself. Or in the words of Pastor Rodrigo this morning, “give an inventory of myself.” It is the perfect time to have a personal reflection of who you are, what things you’ve done in life so far and what you need to do in order to become a better person. What happened for me was I got a realization that it was another high time for me to fully change and that I need to prioritize heaven as it is my primary goal in lifer.

So now, dear reader, all I wanna express is that this Sabbath morning, I was forever changed and I desire to keep it that way. My God in His abundant love and profound goodness for me has ransomed me from all my sins and granted me a new life to live. I will always be so grateful to Him and with exceeding joy in my heart, peace of mind and with a renewed soul, I ask you, “Come and join us in the next Lord’s supper!” 

Leave a Reply

