THE FIGHTER WITHIN

Image

A few weeks ago, while the soldiers of the Philippine Army were risking their lives to save innocent ones in the city of Zamboanga, I was also in a fighting mode. Actually, to be specific, it was my body, fighting off the bacteria that caused my fever and sadly, pharyngitis. Well, thank God, my immune system was functioning properly since I didn’t stay long with my illness. However, I find it so tragic that the MILF forces led by Misuari were wreaking havoc for a longer period of time. In spite of the difference in how long these events occurred, one thing remains the same: a fight against something was happening.

Inevitably, we live in a world where war is widespread. Wars between nations and even within a nation. Wars against injustice, violence and other forms of abuse and crime taking its toll in society. Wars against discrimination which unfortunately are still being experienced by some Filipinos and other nationalities. Wars against pollution and this doesn’t only refer to the environmental aspect but also to the spiritual and mental as well.

Indeed, we all are at war. Everyone is somehow engaged in some form of warfare or everyone seems to be fighting for something or someone in their life. It could be a single mother fighting against time so that she could work three jobs a day to sustain her family. It could be a famous celebrity trying desperately to solve his drug addiction and become sober. It could be a senator advocating for family planning to put an end to poverty. It could also be just that poorly misunderstood guy who’s fighting for a friend or simply a little girl putting up a show to be given money by her parents so she could buy ice cream. You see, we are all warriors. We are all fighters in this game or shall I call it battlefield, LIFE.

Even in the Bible, the concept of warfare is clearly manifested in this verse: “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” Ephesians 6:12. Being a Christian, I know I have to deal with lots of temptations and trials. I need to fight against many things which compel me to do evil. So whether be it in my spiritual life or in my normal routines, I have to have my fighting spirit in order to overcome and defeat whatever is against me.

I know we’re all human but provided God’s grace, we can fight. We can take the victory! We can discover the fighter within.

PHOTO SOURCE: 

Leave a Reply

